Playa del Carmen, Mexico's virtual guidebook written by locals
 

Go Back   www.Playa.info > Off Topic Stuff > General Off-Topic Stuff
FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-15-2017   #151 (permalink)
añejo
 
beerbreath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South Florida
Posts: 10,488
Could be a tough day for window users.Make sure you got the patch.
beerbreath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2017   #152 (permalink)
añejo
 
beerbreath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South Florida
Posts: 10,488
https://www.apertura.co.nz/wannacry
beerbreath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2017   #153 (permalink)
Canada Dry
 
Rissask's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 56,361
Our IT departments were working OT this past weekend for sure....but all is well....they had done their updates, thankfully.
Rissask is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2017   #154 (permalink)
beach geek
admin
 
james's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: 10 year Playa resident lost in Sweden
Posts: 12,980
Quote:
Originally Posted by beerbreath View Post
Have any of you gone on the Darkweb?
I looked at Silk Road before it went down. Just curiosity.
__________________
Get your own signature countdown image!

james is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2017   #155 (permalink)
añejo
 
beerbreath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South Florida
Posts: 10,488
Quote:
Originally Posted by james View Post
I looked at Silk Road before it went down. Just curiosity.
Yea,it kept me amused for about 30 mins.
beerbreath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2017   #156 (permalink)
reposado
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,242
I got a little problem here:

I am running windows 7 on a laptop.
though videos on youtube & other sites play,
I certain news site gives me this information:
your system is running an ad blocker.
therefore neither the video nor livestream plays.
I tried different browers, no difference.
none of the browsers have an add-on or extention for an ad blocker.
( been on several sites & read / went through different ways
to look for / uninstall blocker in different browsers).
so I assume it´s windows 7 that has an ad blocker installed.?
any help appreciated.
bruce sundance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2017   #157 (permalink)
sandflea
 
WandS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 4
Bruce, If you are using IE, look in your Internet Options on the Advanced tab. Scroll down to Security category and check the 2nd through 4th options about allowing active content. Not sure this will fix it but worth a shot. Name:  IE options.gif
Views: 150
Size:  52.8 KB
WandS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2017   #158 (permalink)
añejo
 
Mr Cancun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Far North Dallas
Posts: 3,586
Send a message via AIM to Mr Cancun Send a message via Yahoo to Mr Cancun
I have been selling computer storage for the past 28 years, lots of changes over the years !!!
Mr Cancun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2017   #159 (permalink)
reposado
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,242
Quote:
Originally Posted by WandS View Post
Bruce, If you are using IE, look in your Internet Options on the Advanced tab. Scroll down to Security category and check the 2nd through 4th options about allowing active content. Not sure this will fix it but worth a shot. Attachment 12882
thank you for your advice,
it did not solve the problem.

after firefox and chrome i tried slimjet
in which it was easy to disable ad blocker for single pages,
but the content still doesn´t show.
must be a different problem.
bruce sundance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2017   #160 (permalink)
sandflea
 
WandS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by bruce sundance View Post
thank you for your advice,
it did not solve the problem.

after firefox and chrome i tried slimjet
in which it was easy to disable ad blocker for single pages,
but the content still doesn´t show.
must be a different problem.
Could be they are using popup window coding for their videos try this in Chrome:

Block or allow pop-ups for a specific site
Not all pop-ups are ads or spam. Some legitimate websites display web content in pop-up windows.

Allow pop-ups from a site
On your computer, open Chrome.
Find a page that has pop-ups blocked for you.
In the address bar, click Pop-up*blocked .(small window with an x in it)
Click the link for the pop-up window you'd like to see.
To always see pop-ups for the site, select Always allow pop-ups from [site] Done.
WandS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2017   #161 (permalink)
añejo
 
beerbreath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South Florida
Posts: 10,488
With all this hacking going on this would be a good time to explore a Linux OS.
beerbreath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2017   #162 (permalink)
reposado
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,242
Quote:
Originally Posted by WandS View Post
Could be they are using popup window coding for their videos try this in Chrome:

Block or allow pop-ups for a specific site
Not all pop-ups are ads or spam. Some legitimate websites display web content in pop-up windows.

Allow pop-ups from a site
On your computer, open Chrome.
Find a page that has pop-ups blocked for you.
In the address bar, click Pop-up*blocked .(small window with an x in it)
Click the link for the pop-up window you'd like to see.
To always see pop-ups for the site, select Always allow pop-ups from [site] Done.
thanks again.
sorry, didn´t solve the problem either.
bruce sundance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2017   #163 (permalink)
¡No mames güey!
 
roni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Mérida, Yucatán
Posts: 75,408
From what I read this morning, the ransonware attacks are not affecting Macintosh computers or iOS devices.
roni is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2017   #164 (permalink)
¡No mames güey!
 
roni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Mérida, Yucatán
Posts: 75,408
Quote:
Originally Posted by WandS View Post
Could be they are using popup window coding for their videos try this in Chrome:

Block or allow pop-ups for a specific site
Not all pop-ups are ads or spam. Some legitimate websites display web content in pop-up windows.

Allow pop-ups from a site
On your computer, open Chrome.
Find a page that has pop-ups blocked for you.
In the address bar, click Pop-up*blocked .(small window with an x in it)
Click the link for the pop-up window you'd like to see.
To always see pop-ups for the site, select Always allow pop-ups from [site] Done.
Just say no to Chrome
roni is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2017   #165 (permalink)
añejo
 
horizon200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Delaware
Posts: 14,764
OK Geeks. Plz help a non. Geek with a wireless printer issue.

Just bought a Canon MG3620 Wireless printer an I can't get either iPad or laptop to recognize it.

Printer interface is showing connected to WiFi and. 99% signal strength and an IP Address of 192.168.1.11

Router is a Netgear WPN 824v3 2.4ghz

I've tried pinging it...no recognition
I took down Windows security on the laptop...no difference
When I go to Router Interface and select "Attached Devices", it does not show up.

I've followed every step of the set up and troubleshooting numerous times to no avail. Canon Support says it's Router settings. Router Help has not been able to solve it either.

I'm wondering if the Netgear just doesn't like the Canon....racist pig that it is!

So, if anyone has any suggestions.....
horizon200 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:13 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.