Playa del Carmen, Mexico's virtual guidebook written by locals
 

Go Back   www.Playa.info > General discussion > General - Playa del Carmen
FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-12-2017   #31 (permalink)
beachaholic
 
crmoores's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Finger Lakes & Playa!
Posts: 376
Quote:
Originally Posted by WaterRat View Post
They used to be, (at the gate, and/or on the plane), but as with the immigration forms, it's now hit and miss. I do think that the customs forms are more readily available than the immigration forms, though.
Yes that's why I was wondering if anyone flying to Mexico recently who is aware that customs forms may not be available on the plane and that the PDF version may be a problem has asked for the customs form at check-in at their departing airport? I've never thought of doing that, and last trip in March there were none to be found in our section of the immigration area and we never found one until we actually got to customs. So Just curious if that's an option to prevent these little inconveniences, and we'll ask when we next fly down in June.

Last edited by crmoores; 05-12-2017 at 05:37 AM..
crmoores is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2017   #32 (permalink)
sandflea
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Galesburg, IL
Posts: 8
Thanks for the info! This will really come in handy in a couple weeks. :-)
macattak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2017   #33 (permalink)
Canada Dry
 
Rissask's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 56,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by crmoores View Post
Yes that's why I was wondering if anyone flying to Mexico recently who is aware that customs forms may not be available on the plane and that the PDF version may be a problem has asked for the customs form at check-in at their departing airport? I've never thought of doing that, and last trip in March there were none to be found in our section of the immigration area and we never found one until we actually got to customs. So Just curious if that's an option to prevent these little inconveniences, and we'll ask when we next fly down in June.
They may have them at your departing airport....might be worth asking for them if you are concerned. Personally I wouldn't worry, I'd just grab one at the airport if they didn't have them on the plane. They usually have mess piles of them in the Customs area for anyone who needs one.

I did see on TA yesterday a post from someone who had printed off the customs form and the immigration forms online- there were none of either on the plane. The immigration online form was accepted no problem, but Customs officers would not accept the printed-off version, and they had to fill out a new one when going through Customs. They had a stack right there. This was at CUN.
Rissask is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2017   #34 (permalink)
añejo
 
Mr Cancun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Far North Dallas
Posts: 3,586
Send a message via AIM to Mr Cancun Send a message via Yahoo to Mr Cancun
Very Handy Maggie, Thanks for posting, will use for our next rip
Mr Cancun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2017   #35 (permalink)
beachaholic
 
crmoores's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Finger Lakes & Playa!
Posts: 376
Yes it's not a big deal filling one out at customs. Just in a hurry to get out of the airport I guess!
Thanks for the info on the FMM form.
crmoores is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2017   #36 (permalink)
blt
lost on fifth
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: southern New Jersey
Posts: 14
One minor question -
I printed mine out and they came out in Landscape form, instead of Portrait.

Is this right, or did I foul something up?

Thanks
blt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2017   #37 (permalink)
beachaholic
 
crmoores's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Finger Lakes & Playa!
Posts: 376
Quote:
Originally Posted by blt View Post
One minor question -
I printed mine out and they came out in Landscape form, instead of Portrait.

Is this right, or did I foul something up?

Thanks
That is correct. Just crease the paper nicely so it's easy for the agent to tear...
crmoores is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2017   #38 (permalink)
way into it
 
macman806's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Farmers Branch, Texas
Posts: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by blt View Post
One minor question -
I printed mine out and they came out in Landscape form, instead of Portrait.

Is this right, or did I foul something up?

Thanks
There should be a choice when the printer software pops up to choose portrait.
macman806 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2017   #39 (permalink)
blt
lost on fifth
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: southern New Jersey
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by macman806 View Post
There should be a choice when the printer software pops up to choose portrait.
There is. but the form and the tear off part are side by side and won't fit in portrait.
blt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2017   #40 (permalink)
blt
lost on fifth
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: southern New Jersey
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by crmoores View Post
That is correct. Just crease the paper nicely so it's easy for the agent to tear...
Thanks.. I'm used to the real forms where the bottom gets torn off. Many posts on the subject but couldn't fined anyone mentioning which way

Now I am all set for next Friday.
blt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2017   #41 (permalink)
¡No mames güey!
 
roni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Mérida, Yucatán
Posts: 75,252
Quote:
Originally Posted by blt View Post
Thanks.. I'm used to the real forms where the bottom gets torn off. Many posts on the subject but couldn't fined anyone mentioning which way

Now I am all set for next Friday.
Let us know how it went!!
roni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2017   #42 (permalink)
beachaholic
 
crmoores's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Finger Lakes & Playa!
Posts: 376
If I remember I changed to landscape because the form fit better that way.
crmoores is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2017   #43 (permalink)
way into it
 
AZGonzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 220
+1 on landscape. Used it the last 2 trips. No problems at all.
AZGonzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2017   #44 (permalink)
very sparkly
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 25
Regarding the link to the .pdf version of the Customs form...

I've read several posts in which travellers have said that form has not been accepted by Mexican Customs.

Other travellers have reported success with a form found though this link...
Welcome to Mexico

Under "Declaration online", click "Read more".

Last edited by MisterB; 08-03-2017 at 07:34 PM..
MisterB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2017   #45 (permalink)
blt
lost on fifth
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: southern New Jersey
Posts: 14
Arrived today and used the online forms. No trouble at all. The immigration person that we had said they like them because they can read them!
I creased it along the fold, then cut both sides with scissors so that about 1 inch held the two halves together.

Never again will I try to fill out that tiny form bouncing around in economy class!

I did NOT try the customs form, but will in October when we return.

Thanks all.
blt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:24 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.