Playa del Carmen, Mexico's virtual guidebook written by locals
 

Go Back   www.Playa.info > General discussion > General - Playa del Carmen
FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-29-2017   #46 (permalink)
Canada Dry
 
Rissask's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 56,326
Apparently the Customs form at this link has been tested by foreign visitors (from Trip Advisor) and it works:

Welcome to Mexico
Rissask is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2017   #47 (permalink)
beachaholic
 
jwp0077's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Barra de Navidad, Jalicco
Posts: 383
I flew into Mexico City (terminal 2) Saturday. The airline handed out FMM forms but no customs forms. After going through immigration the customs area had basically 2 lines one "Nothing to declare" the other for "items to declare". I went through the nothing to declare line - there were no customs forms, no "button" for red / green light - I just walked through. I asked the customs agent about the forms, she said not necessary and it is a new procedure that will be introduced in other airports in the future.
jwp0077 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2017   #48 (permalink)
añejo
 
jtm1631's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Denver, CO and loving it
Posts: 2,509
Well I'm glad this thread resurfaced. Just filled out and printed off the forms for our trip in 12 days.
jtm1631 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2017   #49 (permalink)
Canada Dry
 
Rissask's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 56,326
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwp0077 View Post
I flew into Mexico City (terminal 2) Saturday. The airline handed out FMM forms but no customs forms. After going through immigration the customs area had basically 2 lines one "Nothing to declare" the other for "items to declare". I went through the nothing to declare line - there were no customs forms, no "button" for red / green light - I just walked through. I asked the customs agent about the forms, she said not necessary and it is a new procedure that will be introduced in other airports in the future.
That will be nice, once it's at all the airports, if that happens! Thanks for the report.

have fun, jtm!
Rissask is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2 Weeks Ago   #50 (permalink)
blt
lost on fifth
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: southern New Jersey
Posts: 14
On Line Customs form

Just as a follow up, we tried the online customs form listed in post #46 on Friday and went through with no problem.
blt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2 Weeks Ago   #51 (permalink)
beachaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Central Alberta Canada
Posts: 298
Great I have mine ready to go on Wednesday!
MsNSol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2 Weeks Ago   #52 (permalink)
blt
lost on fifth
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: southern New Jersey
Posts: 14
unlike the FMME, the customs forms can only be filled out either 2 or 3 days before.
blt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2 Weeks Ago   #53 (permalink)
way into it
 
AZGonzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 219
Quote:
Originally Posted by blt View Post
unlike the FMME, the customs forms can only be filled out either 2 or 3 days before.
How would they know??? We “might” (allegedly) have a small stack since American Airlines never has them. Always fly with our immigration and customs forms completed. One less thing to do...
AZGonzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2 Weeks Ago   #54 (permalink)
very sparkly
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 28
I can't seem to find the FMM form on the link in post 46. Help, please!

Always grab a handful of the custom forms when waiting for bags at CZM. AA rarely has any. FMM's they hold onto pretty tight and it is hard to get extras.
casadiva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2 Weeks Ago   #55 (permalink)
añejo
 
WaterRat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Vancouver, Washington
Posts: 2,250
Quote:
Originally Posted by casadiva View Post
I can't seem to find the FMM form on the link in post 46. Help, please!

Always grab a handful of the custom forms when waiting for bags at CZM. AA rarely has any. FMM's they hold onto pretty tight and it is hard to get extras.
Click on the hyperlink "Welcome to Mexico"

Then "Declaration on Line" Use your mouse -- nothing will bite you.
WaterRat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2 Weeks Ago   #56 (permalink)
¡No mames güey!
 
roni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Mérida, Yucatán
Posts: 75,219
I am old fashioned

I do not use FMM forms to get into Mexico, I use them when I leave Mexico.

This is important for people with a residente status, either temporal or permanente.

I like talking with the folks at the INM booth at the airports I fly out of, when I get my form and fill it out. It lets me know whether things have changed.
roni is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 2 Weeks Ago   #57 (permalink)
very sparkly
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 25
[quote=casadiva;2199012]I can't seem to find the FMM form on the link in post 46. Help, please!

casadiva,

The link in Post 46 is the Customs form.

The link to the FMM is in Post 1.
MisterB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2 Weeks Ago   #58 (permalink)
way into it
 
AZGonzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 219
Here you go...

https://www.inm.gob.mx/fmme/publico/en/solicitud.html
AZGonzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2 Weeks Ago   #59 (permalink)
beachaholic
 
mstevens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 446
Quote:
Originally Posted by casadiva View Post
I can't seem to find the FMM form on the link in post 46. Help, please!
That's a link to the online Customs form.

The link to the FMM (immigration form) is in the first post.

Quote:
Originally Posted by casadiva View Post
Always grab a handful of the custom forms when waiting for bags at CZM. AA rarely has any. FMM's they hold onto pretty tight and it is hard to get extras.
Where do they keep the Customs forms? I rarely have checked baggage so I don't check out that area much. I get a few extra FMM's from the INM window when I leave (which is when I have to fill out and submit the form). I prefer doing the online forms, but it's always great to have backups. I haven't been able to score any spare Customs forms.
mstevens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2 Weeks Ago   #60 (permalink)
añejo
 
WaterRat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Vancouver, Washington
Posts: 2,250
Sorry, and thanks to others for posting correct info --- I really can read
WaterRat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:59 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.