Playa del Carmen, Mexico's virtual guidebook written by locals
 

Go Back   www.Playa.info > General discussion > General - Playa del Carmen
FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-16-2017   #16 (permalink)
aņejo
 
WaterRat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Vancouver, Washington
Posts: 2,250
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elote el Rey View Post
T-Mobile, ATT, Verizon all offer a "Mexico" plan. They all have restrictions for use in Mexico. I know this because T-Mobile kicked me off their system.

TelCel has the same kind of restrictions on it use in the USA.
There very well may be plans from T-Mobile that have restrictions, and that would cause you to be "kicked off", although I'm sure you know why you were "kicked off".

Our plan, as well as most, if not all, inclusive plans from T-Mobile, offer what I posted. Verify what I've said by going to their website.

Full disclosure: We are limited to 10GB data per line per month. Newer plans offer unlimited data for all lines, for just a bit more, but if 10GB doesn't do it, the Rat family needs some professional intervention.
WaterRat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2017   #17 (permalink)
aņejo
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 5,345
I use what's app to call watz appers in the US, no charge. Now has video calls, but I haven't yet tried that.
beam-eye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2017   #18 (permalink)
beachaholic
 
crmoores's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Finger Lakes & Playa!
Posts: 374
Quote:
Originally Posted by beam-eye View Post
I use what's app to call watz appers in the US, no charge. Now has video calls, but I haven't yet tried that.
Never been able to rely on WhatsApp for voice due to echoing, etc, but use it for texting.
crmoores is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2017   #19 (permalink)
aņejo
 
absoluteAL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Latitude 20.6326 Longitude 87.0685
Posts: 14,538
Quote:
Originally Posted by crmoores View Post
Never been able to rely on WhatsApp for voice due to echoing, etc, but use it for texting.
Yes, I agree. I find that not unless both parties have great internet connections, whatsapp calls can be less than desirable. Dropped words and dropped calls happen frequently.
On my cell phone I have Viber, Skype, magicJack, whatsapp but will usually just use AT&T (Mexico) to make local and long distance calls.
absoluteAL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2017   #20 (permalink)
way into it
 
Elote el Rey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: 1/2 ca-1/2 Playa
Posts: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by WaterRat View Post
There very well may be plans from T-Mobile that have restrictions, and that would cause you to be "kicked off", although I'm sure you know why you were "kicked off".

Our plan, as well as most, if not all, inclusive plans from T-Mobile, offer what I posted. Verify what I've said by going to their website.

Full disclosure: We are limited to 10GB data per line per month. Newer plans offer unlimited data for all lines, for just a bit more, but if 10GB doesn't do it, the Rat family needs some professional intervention.
I had the same plan as you have. I was kicked off for "extreme roaming". It is in the "fine print" of all their contracts, including yours. All the cell phone companies, including TelCel, have this type of clause in their contracts.

It took getting "kicked off" to learn that lesson.
Elote el Rey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2017   #21 (permalink)
sandflea
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: London
Posts: 6
If anyone needs/wants a US based phone number that rings to their non-US number then look at this site.

Local Virtual Number Forwarding to Anywhere

It is a virtual number you pay to keep and then only as it's used. You cannot call out on it (we use Skpe or WhatsAp to call out) but others can call you. When someone calls (or texts) we simply get a number and call them back.

It's not expensive and gives a US number to be attached to US accounts when needed.
Audrey and Jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2017   #22 (permalink)
way into it
 
AndyW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: NYC
Posts: 157
T-Mobile's new DIGITS feature might be of interest to some.

What is T-Mobile's Digits: Everything You Need to Know
AndyW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2017   #23 (permalink)
playa maya guy

 
ryberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Playa del Carmen
Posts: 29,363
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elote el Rey View Post
T-Mobile, ATT, Verizon all offer a "Mexico" plan. They all have restrictions for use in Mexico. I know this because T-Mobile kicked me off their system.

TelCel has the same kind of restrictions on it use in the USA.
Hmmmm, we've been using US T-Mobile numbers for years in Playa and haven't had any issue with any restrictions and certainly not with being kicked off... They have been treating Canada, the US and Mexico as a single region for quite some time now, so voice/text/data are all unlimited just like in the US (though the data isn't the highest speed when we're in Mexico), and there's no need for any special Mexico plan.

Quote:
Originally Posted by WaterRat View Post
Full disclosure: We are limited to 10GB data per line per month. Newer plans offer unlimited data for all lines, for just a bit more...
We have a similar plan in the US but they informed us that there was no limit in Mexico (again as the data was not the highest speed). That is to say, no data use in Mexico counts against our regular US plan total.
ryberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2017   #24 (permalink)
aņejo
 
absoluteAL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Latitude 20.6326 Longitude 87.0685
Posts: 14,538
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryberg View Post
Hmmmm, we've been using US T-Mobile numbers for years in Playa and haven't had any issue with any restrictions and certainly not with being kicked off... They have been treating Canada, the US and Mexico as a single region for quite some time now, so voice/text/data are all unlimited just like in the US (though the data isn't the highest speed when we're in Mexico), and there's no need for any special Mexico plan.
I am wondering if you were grandfathered in to a certain plan whereas I think Elote el Rey had a newer plan that, I believe, specified that more than 50% of your out calls have to originate in the U.S.
absoluteAL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2017   #25 (permalink)
aņejo
 
WaterRat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Vancouver, Washington
Posts: 2,250
Quote:
Originally Posted by absoluteAL View Post
I am wondering if you were grandfathered in to a certain plan whereas I think Elote el Rey had a newer plan that, I believe, specified that more than 50% of your out calls have to originate in the U.S.
T-Mobile has not informed me of any such restrictions, nor have I seen any restrictions posted on their website.

There would, in general, be little reason to be grandfathered in to any plan of T-Mobile's. Again, in general, newer plans are more generous, and offer more benefits than older plans.

I do believe Elote el Rey was "kicked off", but until I learn ALL of the facts concerning his removal, I'll keep that skeptical look on my face.
WaterRat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2017   #26 (permalink)
aņejo
 
absoluteAL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Latitude 20.6326 Longitude 87.0685
Posts: 14,538
Quote:
Originally Posted by WaterRat View Post
T-Mobile has not informed me of any such restrictions, nor have I seen any restrictions posted on their website.

There would, in general, be little reason to be grandfathered in to any plan of T-Mobile's. Again, in general, newer plans are more generous, and offer more benefits than older plans.

I do believe Elote el Rey was "kicked off", but until I learn ALL of the facts concerning his removal, I'll keep that skeptical look on my face.
I just got off of the phone with T-Mobile. With any/all of their plans, a majority (more than 50%) of your outgoing calls/data MUST originate in the United States and, therefore, less than 50% of your outgoing calls/data can originate in Mexico. I believe than Elote de Rey reversed those numbers and was given the unceremonious boot

EDIT: Now you can wipe that skeptical look off of your face...........I just got off of the phone with Elote de Rey and that was (as I stated above) the exact reason he was booted off of T-Mobile. That is, MORE than 50% of his outgoing calls/data originated in Mexico!

Last edited by absoluteAL; 06-03-2017 at 05:07 PM..
absoluteAL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2017   #27 (permalink)
aņejo
 
WaterRat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Vancouver, Washington
Posts: 2,250
I stand corrected and educated.
WaterRat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2017   #28 (permalink)
playa maya guy

 
ryberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Playa del Carmen
Posts: 29,363
Well that's interesting. And just to be clear, I was never thinking of how much (%) in voice/data was used in one place v the other, nor have we been in that position much.

I wonder over what period of time that is, however, because we were in Mexico for 5+ weeks the summer before last and using our T-Mobile devices all that time, so it would have been 100-0 in terms of comparative use then. No one said boo to us about it, but maybe it's over 90 days or something...
ryberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2017   #29 (permalink)
way into it
 
Elote el Rey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: 1/2 ca-1/2 Playa
Posts: 161
When I got booted by Tmobile, I did a lot of research on the subject. Here is what I found out.

International treaties and agreements between the USA, MX, and CA forbid their telecom companies from selling their services in counties other than their own. Roaming agreements allow use of other companies systems around the world. Can you imagine if TelCel was allowed to sell their Amigo Sin Limite plan in the USA. That plan is less than $10USD a month for unlimited calling, text, and 600mb internet. No USA company could compete with those plans and prices.

T-mobile and ATT North America plans look at usage over a 90 day period to decide if you are an extreme roamer. Over 50% usage off the HOME network during that time period can make you an extreme roamer. ATT shows the restriction on their web site. T-mobile hides this restriction from their customers and their employees (or their employees just lie to make a sale).

I do know of people that slip thru the cracks and haven't gotten booted.
Elote el Rey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2017   #30 (permalink)
playa maya guy

 
ryberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Playa del Carmen
Posts: 29,363
Thanks for the info.

When I have time, I think I'll contact T-Mobile or go into a store or something to ask about it, as if I don't know anything, and see what they tell me. Will report back, if/when I do.
ryberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:10 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.